Home > Technology, Wordpress > Can’t Make the Jump…

Can’t Make the Jump…

Lately I’ve been toying with the idea of moving this blog to TypePad instead of WordPress. I’ve looked at the TypePad set up, and I just can’t do it. I really like the way WordPress is set up, and I’ve gotten used to working on WordPress.

What can I say, I’m hooked on WordPress! This is a great blogging platform!

A little background…

I’ve been tooling around on the TypePad Web site for a few months now (I’ve had the account there for about a year now, and I don’t know why I’ve been paying $4.95 a month for a blog I wasn’t even using.) and I’ve tried to get a feel for the behind-the-scenes access. Writing posts and adding more content was OK, but I guess I’ve become used to the way WordPress is set up (although I’d like to see the backend of WordPress have a little more polished and professional look, kind of how TypePad is set up. It took me a little while to figure out how to move around here). WordPress’ categories have made it easy for me to connect to other Albuquerque blogs, or political blogs, or whatever you see these posts filed under.

The themes for WordPress are a lot better than the ones available for TypePad as well. On WordPress they give you a lot of creatively different options for free on WordPress.com, while on TypePad (paying $4.95 or more a month) I get to pick from such varied themes as… Minimalist Blue, Minimalist Purple or… be still my beating heart… Minimalist GREEN! Oh joy! (/snark)

The download for WordPress is also head and shoulders above Movable Type. WordPress takes 5 minutes to install (maybe a few minutes more for me because I don’t usually know what I am doing) while the one time I tried to install Movable Type I gave up after 3 hours and trying to read through the manual.

Plus WordPress.com is free.

“So is Blogger” you might be saying, but while I was on Blogger handcoding data on the template, I was including that information on WordPress via widgets in a tenth of the time. This is another complaint I have about TypePad, where in the hell in all of that info surfing was the page to add links, or a blogroll!?

I did, however, enjoy Vox. TypePad’s version of a very, very, incredibly basic blog. I think I will keep my Vox blog, primarily because it’s free as well, and it’s designed to be a light-hearted, social community type of platform. And it does succeed at that.

For my more serious blogging endeavors, I’m going to stick with WordPress. I enjoy using it, I’m starting to get the hang of it, and what can I say – it’s free! The best of all worlds!

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to walk the dog and head out to pick up my copy of Halo 3! Oh Boy!!!!! I’m not going to sleep at all for the next week! 🙂

  1. No comments yet.
  1. 26 September 2007 at 10:32 pm

Leave a Reply

