Home > Politics > Stifling Free Speech, the Old Fashioned Way

Stifling Free Speech, the Old Fashioned Way

The Thomas Jefferson Center for the Protection of Free Expression released their list of recipients of the 2007 Jefferson Muzzles. These muzzles, for those readers (Hi Mom!) who aren’t familiar with them, are awarded to those people, groups and organizations that engage in activities that stifle free speech in America.

As you can guess, there is always a long list of potential candidates. In fact a few years back I nominated a pastor in southern New Mexico who organized a book burning for that most hideous of books, the Harry Potter series! This year’s winners (losers?) include:

  1. The Bush Administration
  2. The National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)
  3. Representative Pete King (R-NY)
  4. The Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
  5. The US Department of Defense
  6. The Ohio General Assembly
  7. The Administration of Kentucky Governor Ernie Fletcher
  8. The East St. Louis (Illinois) City Council
  9. Maine Bureau of Liquor
  10. The Charles A. Beard Memorial School Board (Knightstown, IN)
  11. Watson Chapel (Arkansas) School District
  12. Miami-Dade County Public School
  13. 1.A Joint Muzzle to Ben Davis High School (Indianapolis, IN), Princeton High School (Cincinnati, OH), and Wyoming Valley West High School (Kingston, PA)
  14. The Philadelphia Human Relations Commission


Hat Tip: Mssr. Hinton

Categories: Politics
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: