Home > Uncategorized > Earth Day

Earth Day

Well, it’s Earth Day again.  And every Earth Day I start to reminisce.  About what’s happening to the planet and about what happened when I was in college.  

Nothing major, but when I entered college I was an environmental engineering and environmental science major.  I had such great hopes about being the one who could help salvage the environment and keep the planet from spiraling where it’s still going.  My step-father once told me that he thought I was the kind of person who would be able to have an impact on the planet working from a lab.

As you can see (from my upcoming graduation with a degree in public relations), that went over like a pregnant pole-vaulter.

And now, as I get ready to graduate, and as I watch the massive changes in our environment, I have to ask.  Is it really too late to alter our lifestyles enough to save the planet?

“But we like it warm,” some might say.

How warm do you want it?  Christ, it was almost 100 degrees in Dallas.

100 degrees.  

In Dallas.

IN APRIL!

Are you kidding me?  And people still want to argue that man’s impact on the planet isn’t influencing global warming?

If you go to the photo slide show on Slate, you’ll start to see all of the changes that are going on in the world.  The fabled snows of Mt. Kilimanjaro have thinned, and the ice cap there has melted to near nothing.  The Arctic and Antarctic circles are melting faster and faster, which will have an impact on island nations and coastal areas.

(Although the thought of a lot of Florida and California under 4 stories of water can’t make me cry too much) 😉

“What can we do?” you ask.

I don’t know anymore.  Maybe if I hadn’t switched majors in college…

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

